Account Settings & Security
The Settings page is where you can find and manage all security-related tools and notifications for your ActBlue account. Navigate to the Settings page by clicking “Settings” in the Manage menu at the top of your screen.
When you open the Settings page, you will land on the “Security” tab. At the top of the “Security” tab, you can change the email address you use to log in to your ActBlue account and change your password. Please note that email addresses cannot be changed to an email that already has an existing ActBlue Express account.
On this page, you can also enable or manage two-factor authentication (2FA). 2FA acts as an extra layer of protection for your ActBlue admin account by requiring you to provide two different, independent pieces of verification to confirm your identity when logging in. If you have two-factor authentication enabled, you can switch your two-factor device or generate backup codes.
Under “Browsers and devices,” you can view the different internet browsers and devices that your ActBlue account was recently accessed from. You’ll see when and where each device and browser was used, as well as the device’s IP address. You also have the option to sign out of all ActBlue sessions other than the one you are currently in.
Under “Recent activity,” you can view all recent security-related activity on your account, such as changing your password or enrolling in two-factor authentication.
At the bottom of the page, you will find the option to delete your personal ActBlue account. You can find details on this process at the bottom of this article.
The other tab on the Settings page is the “Notifications” tab. This is where you can manage the fundraising and security notifications that you receive via email about your ActBlue account.
All of the notifications in this tab are turned on by default for your security:
- Daily email reports about your fundraising
- An alert to let you know when you have been signed out of all sessions
If you have your personal payment information saved in an ActBlue Express account in addition to being an admin for a campaign or organization, you will also see additional notifications for the following security events:
- A payment method has been added, removed, or updated
- Your ActBlue Express profile info (address, tip, etc.) is updated
If you would like to turn any of these notifications off, simply click the toggle on the right side of your screen.
Please note that even if you turn off all of these notifications, for your security you will still receive emails from ActBlue about other important security-related changes to your account, including password changes and two-factor authentication updates.
Deleting your personal ActBlue account
If you delete a personal ActBlue account, you will not be able to use the email associated with that account again to create a new account. You also will not be able to access any groups you may have previously been an admin for.
If you are sure you want to delete your personal account, sign in to your ActBlue account and click on the Manage menu in the navigation bar on the top of your screen. Choose “Settings” from the dropdown.
Scroll down to the bottom of the Settings page and you will see the option to delete your ActBlue account.
Click the “Delete” button on the right side of your screen.
Clicking the “Delete” button will bring up a pop-up which will ask you to enter either your current password or a temporary code to verify your identity.
If you created your ActBlue account using a Gmail- or Gmail-affiliated email address and do not have an ActBlue password, you will only see the option to use a temporary code.
If you use a temporary code, ActBlue will send an email to the address listed in the pop-up.
The code included in the email will expire after 10 minutes — if you need a new code, click “Resend code” on the pop-up.
After you receive the email, enter the temporary code in the pop-up’s code field. Then click “Permanently delete account.”
You also have the option in the “For your security” pop-up to use your current password to verify your identity.
The next pop-up page will ask you to enter your current password. Once you have entered your password, click “Permanently delete account.”
After you permanently delete your account, you will receive an email confirming that your account has been deleted.